Welcome to EMP20, Yangon, Myanmar

International Conference on Energy, Materials and Photonics 2020

July 8 - 11 , 2020

Attention Please!

Due to the outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the EMP20 Conference has been postponed to hold a virtual conference on the 17th and 18th of Dec 2020 from 9am to 4pm Myanmar Standard Time. The committee is still accepting the abstracts until the deadline of 5th Dec 2020. There is no registration fee. The details of the new schedule can be found at the University of Yangon website at the following link:

EMP conferences have been held every year since 2015. Following the successful EMP18 conference in Montreal, Canada and the EMP19 conference in Shanghai, China, the EMP20 will be held in Yangon, Myanmar, in conjunction with 100th Anniversary of University of Yangon. The aim of this conference is to provide a platform for academics, scientists, business leaders, innovators, and industrialists around the world to exchange ideas and form collaborations to jointly fight energy crisis, and combat global warming and climate change. In particular, we solicit papers in a broad area of energy photonics, an emerging area in applying photonics in high efficiency energy production, utilization, and related material researches supporting these applications.

EMP20 covers all aspects of Material and Photonics in Energy applications including but not limited to:

  • Energy and Energy Storage Materials
  • Nanomaterials
  • Functional Materials and Devices
  • Hybrid Materials
  • Solar Cells
  • Semiconductor Lighting and Displays
  • Smart Windows and Coating
  • Smart (Nano) Materials
  • Solar Hydrogen
  • Optics and Photonics
  • Nanophotonics
  • Nano-Optics
  • Nanoplasmonics
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Theoretical Physics
  • Electronics

Conference Organization


University of Yangon, Southern University of Science and Technology, Society for Energy Photonics.


IEEE Nanotechnology Council and OSA as co-organizer.

EMP20 Committees
Prof. Pho Kaung, Rector, University of Yangon.
Prof. Khin Khin Win, University of Yangon.

Organizing Committee
Prof. Aung Ko Ko Kyaw, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
Prof. Thi Thi Lay, Josai University, Japan
Prof. Ye Chan, University of Yangon
Prof. Myo Lwin, University of Yangon
Prof. Aye Aye Thant, University of Yangon
Prof. Yin Maung Maung, University of. Yangon
Prof. Than Zaw Oo, University of Yangon.
Prof. Min Maung Maung, University of Yangon.

International Advisory Committee
Prof. Xiao Wei Sun, Southern University of Science and Technology, China.
Prof. Renaud Bachelot, University of Technology of Troyes, France.
Prof. Dongling Ma, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS), Canada.
Prof. Saw Wai Hla, Ohio University, USA.
Prof. Jianwei Xu, Institute of Materials Research and Engineering (A*STAR), Singapore.

Conference Secretaries (contact people)
Prof. Min Maung Maung, University of Yangon.
Dr Zin Min Myat, University of Yangon.
Dr Aye Aye Mar, University of Yangon.
Dr May Thu Aung, University of Yangon.